Corona Chronicles: 10/19/2022

It has been another crazy week at the Radford house.

First, I would like to congratulate my oldest daughter and her cast mates for a successful run of Akeelah and the Bee at the Coterie Theater. These kids were amazing, and for at least a couple of them, it was their first production. They did a total of 37 shows in a months time, sometimes, even 3 shows in one day. The kids did that while also trying to maintain their grades and their teenage lives. It was no small feat.

That was the good thing. The bad thing was that I managed to wreck my car on the last few days of the show. We are now down to one car as a family. It was already stressful trying to get everyone to where they need to be. Being down a vehicle has added an extra level of stress to all that.

Since my last update, the boy had a high and a low. He went to a VR birthday party. HE had such a good time. He was not allowed to stay the night like the rest of the children. First of all, I generally don’t allow my kids to stay overnight with other people. Secondly, he was on punishment for not doing his school assignments. As a result, he lost access to all of his electronics. He only got to go to the party because I had already RSVP’d.

The baby is back in gymnastics and she is thrilled, especially now that a friend from school joined her class. She’s also back to experimenting in the kitchen. Last week, after I refused take her to an expensive seafood restaurant, she made her own shrimp boil using some things we already had at home. I’ll be glad when she can take over all of the cooking duties.

We tried a new crockpot jambalaya recipe last week. IT was not a successful effort. The flavor of the meal was perfect. However, the texture was a disaster. Apparently, my crockpot has hot spots, so the rice cooked unevenly. Some of it was mushy. Some of it was crunchy, and some of it was cooked perfectly. I won’t be doing that again. I’d rather make it on the stove.

Anyway, now that the play is over and I can’t actually get anywhere, I’m going to focus on putting my house and my life back together. A lot of things got pushed to the back burner as we put a lot of energy into making sure my big kid had a successful debut. Laundry hasn’t been put away for weeks. I haven’t written anything of substance probably since before the show started, and my diet has been trash. I joined a biggest loser challenge. I might as well have just donated that $20 dollars because I have barely lost a pound.

I didn’t win the Powerball. No wealthy benefactor has stepped up to sponsor us yet, and no unexpected checks have arrived in the mail. Somehow we are all still surviving, and since you had the time to read this, so are you. For that, I am grateful.

Have a good week!

Leave a comment