Corona Chronicles: 10/08/2022

October is generally my favorite month of the year.

I usually try to make a big deal about my birthday. I intend to use all of the free birthday coupons I get in my e-mail. But they are coming in a little slow, so I haven’t had any free meals yet. I’m having a hard time deciding where I want to go for my birthday dinner with my family. I spend a good amount of time looking at menus online to see if I can find a place that will fit all of our tastes. I haven’t found anything yet.

Anyway, we are down to our last week of shows at the Coterie and I could not be more excited. This back and forth to the Crossroads district is killing my gas budget and wearing me out. After today’s show, we had to run home and get ready for the homecoming dance. (My kid looks amazing by the way.) She seems to be taking all this in stride. I, however, am on the verge of a breakdown. I have no idea how she is managing so well.

I dropped the ball and didn’t study with the baby for her last spelling test, and the result was an average grade. She was disappointed. I felt like I failed in my parenting duties. However, her reading has improved quite a bit since the beginning of the school year, so I’m not failing at everything. She also got moved from the wait list in her gymnastics class. When we arrived on her first day, her new friend from school was also in the class. They were so happy to see each other. It was the cutest thing. It almost made up for some of the less than ideal things that happened this week.

My son is the one who is going to give me a heart attack. His book bag is completely unorganized. He answers all of my questions with one or two words. His math grade is probably going to cost him is X-box for a few weeks, and he always waits until the last minute to tell me anything. He has decided to get involved with debate and drama club, which I’m happy about. I’m not happy when he tells me about meetings that same day.

As for new things this week, we tried a croquette recipe from his anime cookbook. I have had both salmon and tuna croquettes before. This was a steak and mashed potato croquette, and it was actually quite tasty. I considered going back to HelloFresh for new ideas, but it really is a little pricey for my family of five.

Quote of the week goes to the oldest, who following her debut vocal music performance said aloud “Match my energy or get off the stage.” She lives her life like that. We all should.

Love and light to all of us,

Mama Radford

Leave a comment